Skip to content

Bill would expand U.S. visa-waiver program to Hong Kong, Macau

Hawaii Sen. Mazie Hirono is co-sponsoring legislation that would expand the U.S. visa-waiver program to include subnational territories such as Hong Kong and Macau, which would allow residents to travel more freely to the United States.

The bill would allow the Department of Homeland Security to consider subnational territories currently treated separately from their countries under U.S. law for participation in the visa-waiver program, which allows residents to travel to the United States without a visa for trips lasting fewer than 90 days.

In addition to Hong Kong and Macau, which belong to China, the legislation also would include the British territories of Bermuda, the Cayman Islands, the British Virgin Islands and the Turks and Caicos Islands.

Read the entire piece at: