February 08, 2016

Hirono Receives Teach For America Congressional Champion Award

On Monday morning, United States Senator Mazie Hirono was presented with the Teach For America Congressional Champion Award.

Senator Hirono received the award in her office, presented by Teach For America-Hawai’i Executive Director Jill Baldemor and members of Teach for America’s Native Alliance Initiative.

“Teach For America–Hawai‘i is incredibly grateful for Senator Hirono’s unwavering support for Teach For America in Hawai’i and Washington, D.C.,” said Baldemor. “Senator Hirono has been a champion for quality alternative certification programs, competitive grants such as SEED that enable excellent teacher training and support, and AmeriCorps funding to support those willing to dedicate themselves to serving our most vulnerable populations.  She has demonstrated unparalleled leadership in supporting Asian American and Pacific Islander teachers and students through Teach For America’s Native Alliance Initiative.”

The award was presented to the senator for her continued efforts to expand educational opportunities for students in Hawai’i and across the country.

“I know firsthand how a quality education opens doors to opportunity. For 25 years, Teach for America has been working to improve the public education system by pairing ambitious and bright women and men with students who need them the most. While TFA corps members make a two year commitment to teaching, their commitment to education lasts a lifetime. I am honored to accept this award, and will continue to fight to ensure that every student is equipped to play and significant role in the 21st century workforce,” said Senator Hirono.

In addition to Senator Hirono, 2016 Congressional Champions include: Senator Michael Bennet (D-CO), Representative Susan W. Brooks (R-IN), Representative Tom Cole (R-OK), Senator John Cornyn (R-TX), Senator William Cassidy (R-LA),  Chairman John Kline (R-MN), Senator Barbara Mikulski (D-MD), Senator Patty Murray (D-WA), Senator Mitch McConnell (R-KY), Representative Bobby  Scott (D-VA), and Senator Roger Wicker (R-MS).

Source: Big Island Now