Skip to content

Hirono Applauds Passage of Bipartisan Resolution Recognizing February as Career and Technical Education Month

WASHINGTON, DC – Senator Mazie K. Hirono (D-HI) applauded the unanimous Senate passage of a bipartisan resolution recognizing February 2024 as Career and Technical Education (CTE) Month. The resolution—led by Senators Tim Kaine (D-VA), Todd Young (R-IN), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), and Ted Budd (R-NC)—also recognizes the importance of career and technical education and encourages educators to promote CTE as a respected educational pathway for students.  

“Career and technical education expands access to diverse career paths for students in areas such as arts and media, information technology, building and construction, and much more,” said Senator Hirono. “The Hawaii Department of Education encourages the promotion of CTE career pathways, offering 13 pathways encompassing over 40 different programs in public schools across the state. These fields offer additional opportunities for students, whether they choose to join the workforce or pursue post-secondary education, and I am proud to see this resolution pass with broad bipartisan support.”

In addition to Senators Hirono, Kaine, Young, Baldwin, and Budd, the resolution is also cosponsored by Senators John Barrasso (R-WY), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Mike Braun (R-IN), Katie Britt (R-AL), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Tom Carper (D-DE), Bob Casey (D-PA), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Susan M. Collins (R-ME), Chris Coons (D-DE), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Steve Daines (R-MT), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Joni Ernst (R-IA), John Fetterman (D-PA), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Bill Hagerty (R-TN), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), John Hickenlooper (D-CO), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Angus King (I-ME), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), James Lankford (R-OK), Ben Ray Luján (D-NM), Cynthia Lummis (R-WY), Joe Manchin (D-WV), Roger Marshall (R-KS), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Patty Murray (D-WA), Alex Padilla (D-CA), Gary Peters (D-MI), Jack Reed (D-RI), Jim Risch (R-ID), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Mike Rounds (R-SD), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Tim Scott (R-SC), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Tina Smith (D-MN), John Thune (R-SD), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Mark R. Warner (D-VA), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Roger Wicker (R-MS), and Ron Wyden (D-OR).

The full text of the resolution is available here.