Skip to content

Hirono, Colleagues Introduce Bipartisan, Bicameral Resolution Commemorating Hispanic Heritage Month

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Today, U.S. Senator Mazie K. Hirono (D-HI) joined Senators Bob Menendez (D-NJ), John Cornyn (R-TX), and 43 of her Senate colleagues in introducing a commemorative resolution recognizing September 15th through October 15th, 2022, as Hispanic Heritage Month. The resolution celebrates the heritage, culture and immense contributions of Latinos to the United States.

“Our country, our culture, and our communities have been shaped and strengthened by the contributions and achievements of Latino Americans,” said Senator Hirono. “As we honor Hispanic Heritage Month, let us recommit to breaking down the barriers that Latino communities continue to face.”

The commemoration of Hispanic Heritage Month started in 1968 as ‘Hispanic Heritage Week’ under President Lyndon B. Johnson and was expanded in 1988 by President Ronald Reagan to cover a 30-day period starting on September 15th and ending on October 15th. Latinos currently make up 18.5 percent of the U.S. population and are projected to grow to 107 million people by 2065 as 24 percent of the population. Cárdenas’ resolution notes that Hispanic-Americans contribute more than $2.6 trillion to the United States economy, more than the GDP of all but the top 17 nations in the world.

In addition to Senators Hirono, Menendez, and Cornyn, the resolution is co-sponsored by Senators Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Ed Markey (D-MA), Alex Padilla (D-CA), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Jack Reed (D-RI), Chris Coons (D-DE), Chris Murphy (D-CT), Ben Ray Luján (D-NM), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Raphael Warnock (D-GA), John Hickenlooper (D-CO), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Angus King (I-ME), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Mark Kelly (D-AZ), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Patty Murray (D-WA), Tina Smith (D-MN), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Bob Casey (D-PA), Tom Carper (D-DE), Chuck Schumer (D-NY), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Mark Warner (D-VA), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Jon Ossoff (D-GA), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Susan Collins (R-ME), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Bill Hagerty (R-OK), Marco Rubio (R-FL), and Rick Scott (R-FL).

The full text of the resolution is available here.