June 02, 2022

Hirono, Colleagues Introduce Resolution Recognizing June as LGBTQ+ Pride Month

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senator Mazie K. Hirono (D-HI) joined Senators Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Tina Smith (D-MN) and all 50 Senate Democrats in introducing a Senate resolution recognizing June as LGBTQ+ Pride Month. The senators’ resolution highlights the contributions LGBTQ individuals have made to American society, notes several major milestones in the fight for equal treatment of LGBTQ Americans, and resolves to continue efforts to achieve full equality for LGBTQ individuals. The resolution also recognizes how the U.S. Supreme Court’s pending decision to overturn Roe v. Wade could potentially undermine and erode other constitutional rights also grounded in privacy, including the right for same-sex couples to marry or engage in consensual relationships without the risk of criminal prosecution.

“During Pride Month, we celebrate the right of every person to live as their full and authentic self,” said Senator Hirono. “We’ve made great progress in advancing equity and justice for LGBTQ+ people, but amid a rise in anti-LGBTQ+ policies & rhetoric, it's clear our work is far from over. This Pride Month, and all year round, I’m fighting to pass the Equality Act and help ensure LGBTQ+ in Hawaii and across our country can live and thrive free from discrimination.”

In 2021, Senate Democrats re-introduced the Equality Act, legislation to ensure civil rights laws prohibit discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation and gender identity. The Equality Act would unequivocally ban discrimination in a host of areas, including employment, housing, public accommodations, jury service, access to credit, federal funding assistance, and education. 

Along with Sens. Hirono, Brown, Feinstein, and Smith, the resolution was co-sponsored by all 50 Senate Democrats, including Sens. Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Ed Markey (D-OR), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Angus King (I-ME), Tom Carper (D-DE), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Chris Murphy (D-CT), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Bob Casey (D-PA), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Richard Durbin (D-IL), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Baldwin (D-WI), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Alex Padilla (D-CA), Joe Manchin (D-WV), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Chris Coons (D-DE), Jack Reed (D-RI), Reverend Raphael Warnock (D-GA), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Mark Warner (D-VA), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Benjamin Cardin (D-MD), John Hickenlooper (D-CO), Bob Menendez (D-NJ), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Mark Kelly (D-AZ), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Ben Ray Luján (D-NM), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Patty Murray (D-WA), Krysten Sinema (D-AZ), Gary Peters (D-MI), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Jon Tester (D-MT), John Ossoff (D-GA), and Chuck Schumer (D-NY).

Full text of the resolution is available here

This year’s pride resolution has been endorsed by the Human Rights Campaign (HRC) and Equality Ohio.