May 25, 2018

Hirono Introduces Resolution Recognizing Asian Pacific American Heritage Month

WASHINGTON, D.C.– Senator Mazie K. Hirono and a bipartisan group of 21 Senators introduced a resolution recognizing the importance of Asian Pacific American Heritage Month and recognizing the contributions of the Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) community.

“Each May, we come together to celebrate the contributions of the Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander communities in Hawaii and across the country,”Senator Hirono said. “However, Asian Pacific American Heritage Month also reminds us of the work we have ahead to ensure opportunity and equality for AAPI communities.” 

“I am proud to join Senators Hirono and Harris in recognizing the important role Asian and Pacific Americans play in our country’s success,” Senator Duckworth said. “Our community’s contributions to America’s government, economy, culture, arts, military and more have been instrumental in our country’s growth and development. This Asian Pacific American Heritage Month, let’s celebrate the progress Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders have made and renew our commitment to helping all members of our community achieve the American Dream.”

“The Asian American and Pacific Islander community helped build America and continues to strengthen our nation,” Senator Harris said. “From science to the arts to education to public service, the AAPI community, including the 6.5 million Asian American and Pacific Islanders of California, make countless contributions that enrich every aspect of American life. I am proud to join my colleagues to recognize May as AAPI Month and to celebrate these contributions, our history and recommit ourselves to the fight for full equality.”

The resolution recognizes several significant milestones for the AAPI community, such as the 25th anniversary of the enactment of the Apology Resolution, which acknowledge the overthrow of the Kingdom of Hawaii and offered an apology to the Native Hawaiian community, and the 75th anniversary of the repeal of the Chinese Exclusion Act. Click here to download a copy of the resolution.

The resolution is cosponsored by Senator Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Bob Casey (D-Penn.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Dean Heller (R-Nev.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Bob Menendez (D-N.J.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), and Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.)