March 14, 2018

Hirono Nominates 44 Hawaii Students to U.S. Service Academies

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Senator Mazie K. Hirono announced her nomination of 44 students to the U.S. military service academies for the Class of 2022. The students’ applications are now being considered by the four academies for final selection.

“Each of these 44 young men and women stood out for their academic and extracurricular achievements,” said Senator Hirono. “I commend their commitment to serving our country and look forward to hearing of their continued success.”

Members of Congress nominate students to the U.S. Air Force Academy, the U.S. Military Academy, the U.S. Naval Academy, and the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy. The U.S. Coast Guard Academy does not require Congressional nominations. Nomination does not guarantee appointment. 

Senator Hirono’s Class of 2022 Academy Nominations:

United States Naval Academy

Domenic Arecchi, Damien Memorial School

Camryn Ban, Maui High School

Nathaniel Barton, Le Jardin Academy

Andreas Casillas, Radford High School

William Duff, Radford High School

Saiaiga Fautanu, Iolani School

Diego Guerrera, Mililani High School

Ethan Ho, Kamehameha Schools

Mattingly Ho, Kamehameha Schools

Aaron Ines, Kapolei High School

Andrew Ines, Kapolei High School

Charles Johnson, Radford High School

Rachelle Lariba, Kapolei High School

Ragan Leslie, Konawaena High School

Kenneth McKinlay, Iolani School

Elizabeth Rooks, Punahou School

Donovan Savage, Kihei resident

Peter Stiglitz, Kapolei resident

Aaron Wehrman, Iolani School

Noah Youtz, Calvary Chapel Christian School

United States Military Academy at West Point

Christopher Berg, Moanalua High School

Caleb Burnett, Damien Memorial High School

Robert Choi, Kalani High School

Jasmine Conroy-Humphrey, Lanai High School

Keona Conroy-Humphrey, Lanai High School

Abigail Horan, Moanalua High School

Jordan Jones, St. Andrew’s Priory School

Amadou Kone, Radford High School

Anessa Ridley, U.S. Military Academy Prep School

Larissa Tsai, Kapaa High School 

United States Air Force Academy

Aya Anderson, Moanalua High School

Hiialo Apo, Sacred Hearts Academy

Lawrence Barrett, Konawaena High School

Tanisha Elbourne, Punahou School

Felicity Horan, Moanalua High School

Heidi Kwock, Punahou School

David Nakamura, Waiakea High School

Lucas Proebstel, Hawaiian Mission Academy

Rita Sorensen, Seton Home Study

Shaina Uyechi, King Kekaulike High School

United States Merchant Marine Academy

Soloman Kaupu, Kamehameha Schools

Lina Namatame, Kalani High School

Robert-Dayle Pescaia, Kamehameha Schools

Daniel Wong, Mid-Pacific Institute