April 18, 2018

Hirono, Udall, Nearly 40 Senators Introduce Resolution Calling for Scott Pruitt’s Resignation

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Senators Mazie K. Hirono, Tom Udall (D-N.M.), and 37 Senators introduced a resolution formally calling on Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Administrator Scott Pruitt to resign. The resolution comes in response to Pruitt’s numerous instances of undermining ethics values, alleged misuse of taxpayer dollars, and actions that stand in opposition to the mission of the EPA – favoring big polluters at the expense of science, our environment, and the health of children and families.

“Scott Pruitt exemplifies the toxic mixture of corruption and hostility to government that we have come to expect from the Trump administration,”Senator Hirono said. “He has undermined the EPA’s mission to protect public health and the environment, and we can scarcely go a week without learning about a new scandal or breach of public trust at the EPA. The only thing that could restore Americans’ trust in the EPA is his resignation.” 

“This historic resolution sends an unequivocal message to the administration: the American public has lost faith in Scott Pruitt, and it’s time for him to go,”Senator Udall said. "During his time in office, Pruitt has waged all-out war on the bedrock protections that keep our air and water clean, prevent toxic chemicals from contaminating our communities, and safeguard the health of our kids and families. He has done lasting damage to public health and safety – gutting the EPA’s core mission – all to benefit his campaign donors and grease the wheels for his big polluter friends. And at the same time, Pruitt has completely violated the trust of the American people and the standards of his office, with a list of ethical transgressions that grows longer by the day. Pruitt is administrator of the EPA, but he’s behaving like the emperor of the swamp. His imperial tenure needs to end.”

In addition to the resolution introduced by Senators Hirono, Udall, and 37 other Senate Democrats, another 131 representatives introduced a similar resolution in the House. The 39 cosponsoring Senators represent the highest number of Senators in U.S. history to sign on to a resolution formally calling for a cabinet official’s resignation. The full text of the resolution can be found HERE. The full list of Senate cosponsors can be found HERE and the full list of House cosponsors can be found HERE.