Skip to content

Senate Passes Bipartisan Resolution Designating Last Week of January as “National Board Certified Teacher Week”

WASHINGTON, DC – Today, the U.S. Senate passed a bipartisan resolution introduced by U.S. Senators Mazie K. Hirono (D-HI), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Katie Britt (R-AL), and Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS) recognizing National Board Certified Teachers by designating the last week of January as “National Board Certified Teacher Week.”

“I am glad the Senate has passed this resolution to celebrate thousands of dedicated National Board Certified teachers across the country,” said Senator Hirono. “Caring, competent, and creative educators are crucial to the development and success of our students. This resolution provides these teachers with the recognition they deserve.”

Studies have shown students taught by National Board Certified Teachers learn more than their peers and are benefited by the leadership and mentorship National Board Certified Teachers provide. Board Certified teachers tend to stay in their professions much longer and can accelerate a student's learning by 1 to 2 months of instruction per school year. Studies also show that students who had a National Board Certified mathematics teacher just once during their education had increased lifetime earnings by $48,000.

“We are so excited and honored that the U.S. Congress has chosen to honor the work of our organization and of National Board Certified teachers by announcing these important resolutions,” said President and CEO of the National Board, Peggy Brookins, NBCT. “We know first-hand the vital impact that Board Certified teachers have on children’s learning across the country, and we are excited that this resolution will spread the word of that impact to lawmakers in both federal and state governments. A heartfelt thank you to Senators Britt, Heinrich, Hirono, and Hyde-Smith for co-sponsoring the resolution in the Senate, and for the partnership and support!”

In addition to Senators Hirono, Heinrich, Britt, and Hyde-Smith, the resolution is cosponsored in by U.S. Senators Tim Kaine (D-VA), John Fetterman (D-PA), Angus King (I-ME), Tina Smith (D-MN), Ron Wyden (D-OR), and Chris Van Hollen (D-MD).  

The full text of the resolution is available here.